Schoolboy Q – Oxymoron World Tour – REVIEW

032213-music-schoolboy-q

Oxymoron WORLD TOUR!

The other day I went to the Schoolboy Q concert.  For those who don’t know Schoolboy Q is an L.A rapper, signed to TDE. He makes up 1/4 of the Black Hippie collective and Q just dropped and album called OXYMORON. I’m a huge fan of Schoolboy so needless to say I was quite excited.

Opening for Schoolboy Q was Audio Push, Vince Staples and Isaiah Rashad. Unfortunately I was not able to see Audio Push and Vince Staples.  I missed them but fortunately when I got there Isaiah Rashad was about to come out.

Isaiah Rashad, the newest member of TDE,  performed most of his work off Cilvia Demo.  I had just listened to Cilvia Demo the other day and I was impressed about his debut. That being said Isaiah Rashad’s style doesn’t really translate well to a live setting. I don’t know if it was the acoustics of the arena or Isaiah Rashad, but it was kind of hard to hear. Also Isaiah Rashad’s music is slow, and somewhat depressing. He’s a good artist, but he still has some work to do.

Isaiah Rashad

Isaiah Rashad

After Isaiah Rashad’s set, there was a small break. Schoolboy Q’s DJ came out and played a quick DJ set to get the crowd pumped. The DJ had a nice set, and for the first time ever I heard Blood on the Leaves by Kanye West, out and about. It sounded really good and I’m not going to lie changed my opinion on Yeezus slightly.

Schoolboy Q came out and started off his set with FUCK L.A. Schoolboy then continued with a nice mix off his work Oxymoron and Habits and Contradictions. Schoolboy had a tremendous amount of energy. I feel as though Schoolboy’s songs are naturally hype. Songs like Moshpit (Bangerz), There He Go, Break Tha Bank, and The Purge are just fun to sing and dance/bang to. Schoolboy was very grateful to his fans, making sure he thanked everyone. He even thanked the fans for saving his life and supporting him. It’s always nice to see rappers give thanks to the fans.

Schoolboy Q

Schoolboy Q

Schoolboy put on an amazing set, though I had some few minor issues. I felt as though his song order could have been better. I felt as though Gangster would have been the perfect song to start with, and I don’t think he should have ended with Man of The Year. I also wished he played Los Awsome and Nightmare on Figg Street.

Overall though the concert was great and you should defiantly check it out if Schoolboy is in your area.

Enjoy,

Jaboy

Leave a Reply

